Things I wish my mother had told me when I started painting soldiers

Started by FierceKitty, 12 February 2014, 04:10:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FierceKitty

1)     Start with faces and hands. You'll inevitably muck the surrounding colours up when you paint them otherwise.
2)     Don't set deadlines; you'll just feel bad about not meeting them. The secret is to paint a bit every day, however small.
3)     Listen to opera when you paint. Unless it's the American war in Vietnam, which demands thumping and mumbling rock of the most brain-rotting species.
4)     Keep your working surface cat-free. Also explain to wives and lovers that advance notice is required before sudden hugs from behind.
5)     Always keep a few horses handy to use up leftover nondescript brown and gray shades.
6)     Marker pens can do a very good job on reins, belts, tartans, mottoes on banners, shields.
7)     Piero della Francesca was a fresco painter. Don't try to paint small figures to the same standard.

Your contributions, comrades-in-arms.
I don't drink coffee to wake up. I wake up to drink coffee.

paulr

Agree with all but the first one, and in two minds about disagreeing on that one :-\

Washes cover a multitude of sins  ;)
Lord Lensman of Wellington
2018 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2022 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2023 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!

Shecky

I used to be a flesh first painter.  Now my standard procedure is:
1. heavy dry brush of medium brown or predominant color over the entire figure
2. Coat (what ever is covering the chest and arms)
3. pants (whatever is covering the legs)
4. belts, webbing and accoutrements
4a. boots or shoes if they are anything other than brown
5. back packs or bed roll (depending on the figure)
6. cuffs and epaulettes (if the figure has them)
7. rifle, then gun metal
8. flesh
9. hats/helmets
9a. hair
10. details such as rifle strap, other metal works
11. figure base