Patriotism

Started by Orcs, 17 October 2012, 08:26:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Orcs

An American, a Frenchman and a Englishman were all walking down a beach in California, when the Amerrcan saw some bright metal half buried in the sand.  He picked it up and it was an old brass lamp.  As he brushed the sand off there was a big puff of smoke and a huge genie appeared.

Genie:
I am the genie of the lamp and I have been imprisoned for the last millenia.  I normally grant those who release me three wishes, but as there are three of you you may have one each. Think well and make a careful choice.

The American starts  "Well I am an American farmer and I am a real patriot and very proud  of my country.  I can trace my  ancestors bck to the Mayflower.  My Father, Grandfather and Great-grandfather were all farmers as will my sons and Grandsons also be farmers .   I would like you to make the soil of this great land the most fertile on earth so that we may never know hunger".

The Genie then clapped his hands twice and said " I have made it so".

Not wanting to be outdone the Frenchman says  "I am a French winemaker, and I too love my country.  We make the best wine and cheese and are famous throught the world for it.  However we are continually invaded by those around us. They come and they take all our wine, cheese and women.  I would like to protect my country and my people.  Please make a wall around the whole of my country to keep out all the invaders so that we may keep France for the French."

The Genie then clapped his hands twice and said " I have made it so".

The Englishman then says " I am a true Englishman and very proud of my country.  We have contributed to many of  the greatest achievments of man in the past thousand years and made the world a better place. I should like to continue with this tradition.  Tell me about this wall."