Painting plastic plants?

Started by Corso, 13 June 2024, 10:40:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Corso

Looking to pick up some of the cheap plastic bamboo stalks from ebay. Colour seems a little 2 dimensional and I'm wondering about painting or staining them.

They are probably made of the same plastic aquarium plants are and I've not had much luck getting paint to stick

Anyone had better luck?
2024 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!

Lord Kermit of Birkenhead

Depends on the type of plastic used. Polethene - ie Airfix Soldier type plastic needs a good wash first and enamals don't always addhere too well although I've not had a problem with acrylics. Hard polsytrene  that most plastic kits (PSC for example) will take any type of paint but an undercoat helps.
FOG IN CHANNEL - EUROPE CUT OFF
Lord Kermit of Birkenhead
Muppet of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021

jimduncanuk

I have some experience with plastic plants.

Wash thoroughly to remove any moulding residue.

Spray all over with acrylic matt varnish.

Basecoat in a darker colour, dry brush in a lighter colour.

Apply a generous ink wash.

Repeat all over with acrylic matt varnish.
My Ego forbids a signature.

FierceKitty

You might get some enduring results with indelible inks or marker pens.
I don't drink coffee to wake up. I wake up to drink coffee.

streetgang

Quote from: jimduncanuk on 13 June 2024, 12:48:13 PMI have some experience with plastic plants.

Wash thoroughly to remove any moulding residue.

Spray all over with acrylic matt varnish.

Basecoat in a darker colour, dry brush in a lighter colour.

Apply a generous ink wash.

Repeat all over with acrylic matt varnish.

This is also my approach although sometimes I don't do the initial matte varnish step if I'm being lazy. The approach listed by Jim above will give good results.
2015 Painting Competition - 2 x Winner!
2015 Painting Competition - 2 x Runner-Up!
2021 Painting Competition - Runner-Up!
2022 Painting Competition - 3 x Winner!