French Napoleonic Year XI and 1807/08 artillery systems

Started by Westmarcher, 16 October 2022, 07:09:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Westmarcher

I'm no great expert on the Napoleonic era. I haven't played a Napoleonic war-game for more than 20 years and ever since selling my 6mm Nap collection some 5 or so years later, I've resisted re-starting a new Nap collection in favour of other periods. But, after seeing a tutorial on YouTube on painting Pendraken French Naps, I took a daft wee notion today to look at Pendraken's 1809 range .... and couldn't find a French 6 pounder.  What?  :o  How could this be?  Wasn't the French Gribeauval artillery system overhauled and replaced by the Year XI system in 1803 and the 4 and 8 pounders replaced by 6 pounders by the time of the 1809 campaign? So I did 'some research' and found this article/essay on the excellent Calpe Miniatures website.

Given the excellence of their Napoleonic ranges, I consider that Calpe takes it's research seriously so worthy of retention in the Resources section for anyone who may not only be interested in how French artillery evolved during this era but also how elements of the old Gribeauval system still managed to survive in service as the wars went on.
*(except for Line Horse Artillery who retained the 4 pounders?)

French Napoleonic Artillery systems

Incidentally, for the keen collectors out there, do you use a proxy for the 6 pounder and if so, what one (e.g., Austrian)?

Oh, and if Leon fancies doing a 6 pounder, here's Calpe's version of the M1808 which Calpe states was the standard field artillery piece of the French army after 1808. The gun has a system XI barrel on the composite M1808 carriage with components of both the System XI and Gribeauval carriages.  :)

French M1808 6 pdr.

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.

Duke Speedy of Leighton

You may refer to me as: Your Grace, Duke Speedy of Leighton.